Ode to a practical mind…

O my dear mind

Don’t be so unfair
I know my necessities
Are nothing but thread bare

Yes, I do understand
But does not, my heart
It sulks and throws a tantrum
On an empty shopping cart!

It just cannot ignore
Nor resist the strong pull
Of bling, glitter and glam
Alluring and powerful!

The mall is overflowing
With euphoria and madness
Awesome sales and discounts
Attract it like a magnet

Oh, don’t you blame me
For I am, all but helpless
Against the bewitching lure
Of the retail temptress

To your belief, contrary
I do not splurge to gloat
A noble cause is at heart
Of keeping economy afloat!

Bags are not only the ones
Loaded heavy, weighing down
But so are overdrawn credit cards
And his panic stricken frowns!

Lifting all this weight
Already from the start
I don’t need the burden
Of guilt on my heart

This time, please don’t preach
Of wisdom in frugality
The season begs to celebrate
So shelve that austerity

All that hard work takes its toll
It calls for a retail therapy
This indulgence is well deserved

Cant you just ignore my vanity?


– By Poetmamma
Wishing everyone happy shopping this festival season!

Edited to add: This post is a Tangy Tuesday Pick by BlogAdda!

This entry was posted in humor, poems. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ode to a practical mind…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Superb! Very apt for the season – Kedar

  2. Gonzalo says:

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and
    find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome website!

What are your thoughts?

